陈则言

    中提琴

    台裔美籍中提琴家陈则言为知名独奏家、室内乐音乐家和教育家,亦为福尔摩沙四重奏创办人之一,并曾获得第十届伦敦国际弦乐四重奏大赛首奖及阿玛迪斯奖。2003年获Primrose 国际中提琴大赛首奖及Lionel Tertis 国际中提琴大赛主审奖后,获得《达拉斯晨报》赞誉他「如丝绸般细腻的演奏,在拍子、声形、色彩、技法上带着优雅歌者之感」;并被《圣地亚哥联合论坛报》赞许道「最令人印象深刻的,是能够借着演奏传达细致情感、发掘隐藏在音乐中的人性」。

    陈则言曾担任圣地亚哥交响乐团以及莫扎特音乐节乐团中提琴首席,亦曾于洛杉矶爱乐、旧金山交响乐团、辛辛那提交响乐团、国家艺术中心管弦乐团、多伦多交响乐团担任客座首席。曾是林肯中心室内乐协会的一员并参与万宝路音乐节,同时也是Camera Lucida和The Myriad Trio的一员。

    2013年8月,福尔摩沙四重奏创办台湾第一个室内乐音乐节。福尔摩沙室内乐节以美国拉维尼亚音乐节、陶斯音乐节、万宝路音乐节、克奈索厅音乐节为模板,希望将顶尖的室内音乐训练带给台湾的年轻音乐家,并把一流的室内乐音乐献给台湾观众。这是福尔摩沙四重奏长久以来的愿望,也是陈则言自许的使命之一。

    陈则言现任教于加州大学洛杉矶分校阿尔珀特音乐学院,曾任教于南加州大学桑顿音乐学院、印第安纳大学南岸分校、加州大学圣地亚哥分校、圣地亚哥州立大学、加州大学富尔顿分校、麦克吉尔大学,并在北美和亚洲各地教授大师班。2011年,亦于Primrose 国际中提琴大赛以得奖者身份担任评审。

Che-Yen Chen

Viola

Taiwanese-American violist Che-Yen Chen has established himself as an active recitalist, chamber musician and educator. He is a founding member of the Formosa Quartet, recipient of the First-Prize and the Amadeus Prize winner of the 10th London International String Quartet Competition. Since winning First-Prize in the 2003 Primrose International Viola Competition and the "President Prize" of the Lionel Tertis International Viola Competition, he has been described by the Dallas Morning News as a musician who "played with silken finesse, and with elegant singers' feelings for timing, shape, color and articulation" and by San Diego Union Tribune as an artist whose "most impressive aspect of his playing was his ability to find not just the subtle emotion, but the humanity hidden in the music".

Having served as principal violist of the San Diego Symphony and Mainly Mozart Festival Orchestra, Chen has appeared as guest principal with Los Angeles Philharmonic, San Francisco Symphony, Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, National Arts Centre Orchestra, and Toronto Symphony. A former member of Lincoln Center Chamber Music Society Two and participant of the Marlboro Festival, he is also a member of Camera Lucida and The Myriad Trio.

In August 2013, Formosa Quartet inaugurated Taiwan's very first chamber music festival. Modeled after Ravinia, Taos, Marlboro, and Kneisel Hall, Formosa Chamber Music Festival is the product of a long-held aspiration and represents one of Chen's primary missions: to bring high-level chamber music training to talented young musicians, and to bring first-rate chamber music to Taiwanese audiences.

Newly appointed Professor of Viola at the UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music, Chen has previously served on the faculty of USC Thornton School of Music, Indiana University South Bend, UC San Diego, San Diego State University, California State University Fullerton, and McGill University, and has given master-classes across North America and Asia. As a laureate, Chen was invited to serve on the jury of the 2011 Primrose International Viola Competition.